IMG_0439

Today as I walk around on campus here at Tarleton State University, I think about how we as college students are beyond anxious and ready to graduate, we forget to be present in the moment and see how we are called to this place in time for a reason.

11 Not that I speak from want, for I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am. 12 I know how to get along with humble means, and I also know how to live in prosperity; in any and every circumstance I have learned the secret of being filled and going hungry, both of having abundance and suffering need. 13 I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.

Philippians 4:11-13

We want to go so quickly through the different stages in our lives but in all reality as we reach these different stages we wish to go back… As I read through Philippians 4 I couldn’t help but to think about this. As college students/college age we often times are less likely to be content, especially women, I am guilty of this myself. But we are always looking so far ahead of getting that dream job, college, new car, a house of our own, we forget to live in the present.

IMG_0449

Paul is writing this letter to the church at Philipi, Paul lived in many different situations and he was able to adapt to all different life experiences. In verse 12 he knew how to get along with both humble and in prosperity. As Christians often times we think that we have to be in financial prosperity when we are not promised that, but we are promised that we will have a life filled with joy because we have Jesus. My prayer today is this, we would not be based on our situations but we would be based on who we are in Christ. No matter where we are in life we all need to practice being content and being present. If we are not careful we will lose the precious events that God has for us.

Keep Christ in the center of your lives and be present in every moment you have here…no matter where you are in life or where you are living.

Leah

Leave a Reply

